For orchestra


2(1)-2(1)-2-2 4-3-3-1 time perc:2 hp str


15 minutes

First performance /Commissioned by

First performance in Stavanger, 2018
Commissioned by Norsk Musikforlag and Stavanger Symphony Orchestra


"Knut Vaage's large-scale "Orkesterdialogar" - a work of 20 minutes - was premiered last year with the Stavanger Symphony Orchestra with Eivind Gullberg Jensen as conductor. The music is sound-based, has some fixed points that recur, is quite free in tonality, and can easily be experienced as a form of nature poetry, not least because wind instruments are blown without sound, there are fog clocks or, for that matter, alarms, here are multiple interpretation possibilities in a rich and, in my opinion, quite well-structured score."

"Before all this, in Knut Vaage's completely new piece "Orkesterdialogar", we get a look right inside. He holds up the orchestra like a three-dimensional canvas for us. You can see what is going on in different places. Small conversations emerge, between a dark cello and a clarinet, between flute and violin, between piccolo and viola. It may grow larger, or it may die out. He gives us memories and frameworks we can recognize from earlier times. A quiet hiss opens the piece, comes back, goes again. It's done so respectfully to the orchestra. It's so nicely used. It ends quietly. It had to."

Translated from German: "As in so many of his works, Knut Vaage also surprises in "Orkesterdialogar" with something unexpected: Just before the end, the music brightens up for a few seconds and reveals homophonic, almost cheerful features. Then the circle closes, and the material from the beginning will return. It is an impressive and mature work Knut Vaage presents."

Buy score

Order the score for "Orkesterdialogar" on Norsk Musikforlag's website.


Orkesterdialogar cover