Nm Brass 2014 - Elite division...


Release date: 2014

Performed by: Ila Brass Band and Thomas Rimul

Written by: Knut Vaage

Produced by: Åsgeir Grong

Duration: 11 min 57 sec


"....The title-piece, "Graffiti" by Knut Vaage, lasts 12 minutes but also is worth every minute's listening as it develops both logically and enterprisingly and is always accessible. It begins with a swirling line and there's the occasional cannon -like gesture. But though it's slightly improvisational to begin with, it develops ideas compellingly and has well-balanced dramatic shape and form. There's also a persuasive variety of moods and rhythms between its sections, and this stimulating composition would make an exciting test- pieces."