Svev: Chamber Works by Knut Vaage

Utgivelsesdato: 2020

Komponert av: Knut Vaage

Fremført av: Einar Røttingen, John Ehde, Ricardo Ordiozola, Valen Trio

Produsert av: Vegard Landaas

Utgitt av: LAWO Classics


"Knut Vaage's compositions, such as 'Bumerang,' 'Rabalder,' and 'Svev,' are not just musical pieces; they are captivating journeys from chaos to silence, challenging our expectations and transcending gravity with refreshing, life-enhancing beauty."

"Knut Vaage's compositions, including 'Bumerang,' 'Rabalder,' and 'Svev,' offer a unique musical experience, blending extended instrumental techniques and harmonic exploration to create a world of texture, shape, and pacing. These pieces, challenging yet attractive, exhilarate attentive listeners and take them on refreshing journeys from chaos to silence."

"Knut Vaage er en underfundig komponist, både i klang og ideene som ligger bak, og han har en stor bredde i sin virksomhet. På hans siste plate er det imidlertid et klassisk kammermusikkformat som står på spill. Det er kun tre verk på den timelange platen, så vi har med omfattende verk å gjøre."

"'Bumerang' can be perceived as an athletic pursuit of surpassing, where moments of rest or disillusionment with a pounding heart are inevitable. Following the loud intrusion into our ears, 'Rabalder' provides a path for reflection and internal processing of the environment. Lastly, 'Svev' delves into the area between the ground and weightless floating, utilizing various means of creating noise."

"Knut Vaage’s “Svev,” which translates to something like “levitate,” produced an exact feeling of suspension. The Valen Trio’s instruments sounded like the tightly-wound objects they are—an objectivity corroborated by percussive taps on the instrument’s bodies."